Skip to content

Module Catalogue

Breadcrumbs navigation

EN4361   The Novels of Jane Austen in Context

Academic year(s): 2018-2019

Key information

SCOTCAT credits : 30

ECTS credits : 15

Level : SCQF level 10

Semester: 1

Availability restrictions: Not automatically available to General Degree students

Planned timetable: 10.00 am - 12.00 noon Mon

This module will examine the six major novels of Jane Austen in the context of novels by three of her contemporaries, Mary Wollstonecraft, Maria Edgeworth and Ann Radcliffe. It aims to encourage an understanding of Austen's work in the light of Romantic period aesthetics and politics and to explore Austen's affinities with and departures from the novelistic conventions of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. The module will also consider critical and theoretical approaches to Austen's writing and selected contemporary translations of Austen's work through recent screen adaptations of her novels. (Group C)

Relationship to other modules

Pre-requisite(s): Before taking this module you must pass EN2003 and pass EN2004

Learning and teaching methods and delivery

Weekly contact: 1 x 2-hour seminar, and 2 optional consultative hours.

Scheduled learning hours: 20

Guided independent study hours: 280

Assessment pattern

As used by St Andrews: 3-hour Written Examination = 60%, Coursework = 40%

As defined by QAA
Written examinations : 60%
Practical examinations : 0%
Coursework: 40%

Re-assessment: 3-hour Written Examination = 100%


Module teaching staff: Dr Katie Garner (KLG7)