Skip navigation to content

EN4361 The Novels of Jane Austen in Context

SCOTCAT credits:30
Academic year(s):2017/8
SCQF Level 10
Planned timetable:10.00 am - 12.00 noon Mon

This module will examine the six major novels of Jane Austen in the context of novels by three of her contemporaries, Mary Wollstonecraft, Maria Edgeworth and Ann Radcliffe. It aims to encourage an understanding of Austen's work in the light of Romantic period aesthetics and politics and to explore Austen's affinities with and departures from the novelistic conventions of the late eighteenth and early nineteenth centuries. The module will also consider critical and theoretical approaches to Austen's writing and selected contemporary translations of Austen's work through recent screen adaptations of her novels. (Group C)

Place in programme(s) and relationship to other modules


Group C Optional for English and BA (Intl Hons) English

UG Pre-requisite(s):EN2003, EN2004

Learning and teaching methods and delivery

Weekly contact:1 x 2-hour seminar, and 2 optional consultative hours.
Total module hours:
  • Scheduled learning: 20
  • Guided independent study: 280

Assessment pattern

UG As defined by QAA:
  • Written examinations: 60%
  • Practical examinations: 0%
  • Coursework: 40%
UG As used by St Andrews:3-hour Written Examination = 60%, Coursework = 40%
UG Re-assessment:3-hour Written Examination = 100%


Module coordinator:Dr K Garner
Module teaching staff:Dr K Garner